The Festival

The Salt Spring Film Festival Society is a non-profit charitable society incorporated in 2010, whose mission is to educate, inspire and activate our community through a Festival of independent documentary film from Canada and around the world. We present films that explore social justice, the environment, art and culture, politics and food security. Filmmakers are invited to the Festival to present their films and lead lively discussions.

The Festival Roots reach back to 1996, when Islanders Bob Wild, Marg and Art Simons were inspired to create a Film Festival on Salt Spring. The Anglican Church offered their basement and for two years, Salt Spring piggy-backed on the resources of the Courtenay Festival and a documentary Film Festival was born. With an infusion of ideas and energy from Jane Squier and Maggie Schubart, the Festival was revived in 1999 as the “Our Island, Our World Film Festival.” Another injection of new energy spurred the Festival further on in 2006 and as a reflection of its growth, the Festival is now a registered educational society, the Salt Spring Film Festival Society, with an active board of directors and a growing membership and a new name: the “Salt Spring Film Festival.”

During the Festival Weekend the Salt Spring Film Festival Society hosts a Social Justice Bazaar. Many local organizations gather to educate the audience of their activities in the social fabric of Salt Spring Island.

Delicious Organic Local Food to satisfy the appetites of film lovers is prepared by Mark Kilner and Milly Sinclair with the help of their GISS culinary students.

Other Events As well, the Society presents other film nights, events and workshops throughout the year to encourage local filmmakers and to cultivate the appreciation of documentary film on Salt Spring Island.

Community Support remains the heart of the Festival: more than 80 volunteers, numerous individual donors and business community advertisers make the festival possible.

Board members

Patricia Lockie / Co-Chair

Therin Gower / Co-Chair

Melissa Searcy / Secretary

Jim Meadows / Treasurer

Katharine Atkins / Director

Diane Copeland Thomas / Director

Bruce Eggertson / Director

Cliff Knox / Director

Gaianna Mahuna (Elisa Meakin) / Director

Judy McPhee / Director

Dave Vollrath / Director

Maggie Ziegler / Director


James Cowan / Festival Co-ordinator

Jane Aitken / Festival Administrator

Committee leaders

Patricia Lockie / Communications

Diane Copeland Thomas / Graphics & Signage

Gaianna Mahuna / Communications, Membership

Diana Morris Knox / Graphics

Cliff Knox / Set-up & Logistics

Melissa Searcy / Food

Katharine Atkins / Set-up

Jim Meadows / Fundraising & Box Office

Judy McPhee / Logistics, Technical

Therin Gower / Volunteers

Victoria Hollingum / Volunteers

Alastair Aitken / Website

Patti Grey & Pamela Dolsen / Decor

Bruce Eggertson / Hospitality Desk

Maggie Ziegler / Social Justice Bazaar

Dave Vollrath / Technical